The Joys Of Meta Cinema

I love going to the movies. There’s this ritual of buying the ticket, get some popcorn, maybe, and then walk into a somewhat dimly lit room, with red seats facing the silver screen. There’s a ceremonial that ritualises the act of watching a film. So more often than not, when I’m watching a movie, I’m aware that I am watching a movie; everything happens in an out-of-real-life compartment of my brain which lets me know, deep down, that I’m safe whatever happens up there.

Great films will make you forget all that entirely. Some will not make you move one bit (we’ve all been there). And then some, most probably belonging in the former category, will have some sort of tongue-in-cheek humour that lets you know that the filmmakers, and the characters are aware they are in a film.

Let’s take a look at a few.

Read the rest on the Raindance blog.

Leave a Reply

